## Before the Appellate Tribunal for Electricity (Appellate Jurisdiction)

## APPEAL No. 64 of 2009 <u>I.A. No. 159 of 2009</u>

## Dated 23<sup>rd</sup> April, 2009

Present : Hon'ble Mr. Justice M. Karpaga Vinayagam, Chairperson

Hon'ble Mr. A.A. Khan, Technical Member

**Power Development Department, Government of** 

Jammu & Kashmir .....Appellant(s)

Vs.

Central Electricity Regulatory Commission & Anr. ...Respondent(s)

Counsel for the Appellant(s) : Mr. Pradeep Misra

Mr. Daleep Kr. Dhayani

Mr. K.K. Gupta

Counsel for the Respondent (s) : Mr. B.Sreekumar, Asst. Chief (L)

for CERC

## **ORDER**

Today, it is reported by the learned Counsel for the Appellant as directed by this Tribunal by the order dated 15<sup>th</sup> April, 2009, Rs. 1 lakh penalty has been paid on 21<sup>st</sup> April, 2009 and the Secretary also appeared before the Commission on 16<sup>th</sup> April, 2009 as directed by the Central Commission. Now Mr. B. Sreekumar, Asst. Chief (L), the representative of the Central Commission has appeared and produced the copies of the proceedings which was held on 16<sup>th</sup> April.

The perusal of the proceedings would indicated that Secretary submitted before the Commission that it was willing to make payment of the power purchase bills and the Appellant required some time for making the payment. In view of the statement made by the Secretary, the Commission directed the Secretary to file a detailed affidavit, indicating the proposal for settlement of the interest payable on account of UI (Unscheduled Interchanges) charges, within a week.

The Counsel for the Appellant would submit that Secretary will file the said proposal on before the 30<sup>th</sup> April, 2009. If it is filed, the Commission may consider the same after taking into consideration all the circumstances mentioned in the affidavit and pass the appropriate orders by providing some time for making the said payment.

With these observations, the Appeal is disposed of.

(A.A.Khan) Technical Member (Justice M. Karpaga Vinayagam) Chairperson